BTEC Extended Certificate and Extended Diploma in IT

Why should I study this subject?
The BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate and Extended Diploma in IT are two year courses which provide work-related knowledge and practical skills in IT and are both suitable for those choosing to find employment after college as well as those moving on to university. The Extended Certificate is broadly equivalent to 1 A-Level and the Extended Diploma is worth 3 full A-Levels. Assessment on each course is made up of an external exam, computer based tasks and internally marked, portfolio based units. Both are demanding courses which require students to be well organised and able to manage their time effectively.

What will I study?
Extended Certi cate
Unit 1* – ‘Information Technology Systems’ – written exam, 2 hours
Unit 2* – ‘Creating Systems to Manage Information’ – computer based task, 10 hrs over 1 week
Unit 3* – ‘Using Social Media in Business’ – internally assessed portfolio
Unit 6 – ‘Website Development’ – internally assessed portfolio
* Mandatory unit

Extended Diploma in IT
Written Exam
1 – ‘Information Technology Systems’
Computer Based Task
2 – ‘Creating Systems to Manage Information’ 11 – ‘Cyber Security and Incident Management’ 14 – ‘IT Service Delivery’
Internally Assessed Portfolio
3 – ‘Using Social Media in Business’
4 – ‘Programming’
9 – ‘IT Project Management’
5 – ‘Data Modelling’
6 – ‘Website Development’
8 – ‘Computer Games Development’
12 – ‘IT Technical Support and Management’ 16 – ‘Cloud Storage and Collaboration Tools’ 17 – ‘Digital 2D and 3D Graphics’

What are the entry requirements?
Please refer to our Course Specific Entry Requirements table here